Around Football Football News

How strong is the Brazil squad for the 2002 World Cup?

The Brazilian squad that won the 2002 World Cup is a collective that achieves the perfect balance, from the position of the guard of Marcos to the attacking trio of Ronaldinho, Rivaldo, Ronaldo.

At the 2002 World Cup, Brazil went down in history when it became the fifth king of world football. Few know that, before the tournament took place in Japan and South Korea, Selecao was only ranked 4th by the dealer William Hill in terms of coronation, after Argentina, France and Italy.

However, looking at the team that coach Felipe Scolari owns in hand, everyone understands that Brazil will make a big deal. They have two golden balls Ronaldo and Rivaldo – with two rising stars – Ronaldinho, Kaka. The full-backs Roberto Carlos and Cafu are also the best men in history in their positions.

Indeed, the 2002 World Cup became the stage for Samba dancers. Returning to the national team after a long injury, Ronaldo scored 8 goals, including a double in the final against Germany.

Ronaldinho and Rivaldo also showed a bright performance, in which the impressed with a free-kick from the yellow leaf falling from a distance of 40 meters, bringing the victory for the home team against England in the quarterfinals.

At the bottom, the trio of Lucio – Elmilson – Roque Junior is like a wall of idioms in front of goal of Marcos, enabling Carlos and Cafu to constantly rise and support the upline.

In the middle of the field, Gilberto Silva and Kleberson form the number 1 midfield pair in the tournament, playing the role of intercepting, holding the rhythm and providing the ball to the upper line perfectly.

From a team suspected of just winning the World Cup in the final elimination round, Brazil became the absolute champion thanks to the timely explosion of the elite stars.

Brazil squad to win the 2002 World Cup:

1. Cafu (1973, Palmeiras)

2. Cafu (1970, AS Roma)

3. Lucio (1978, Leverkusen)

4. Roque Junior (1976, AC Milan)

5. Edmilson (1976, Lyon)

6. Roberto Carlos (1973, Real Madrid)

7. Ricardinho (1976, Corinthians)

8. Gilberto Silva (1976, Atletico Mineiro)

9. Ronaldo (1976, Inter Milan)

10. Rivaldo (1972, Barca)

11. Ronaldinho (1980, PSG)

12. Dida (1973, Corinthians)

13. Juliano Belletti (1976, Sao Paulo)

14. Anderson Polga (1979, Gremio)

15. Kleberson (1979, Atletico Paranaense)

16. Junior (1973, Parma)

17. Denilson (1977, Betis)

18. Vampeta (1974, Corinthians)

19. Juninho Paulista (1973, Flamengo)

20. Edilson (1971, Cruzeiro)

21. Luizao (1975, Gremio)

22. Rogerio Ceni (1973, Sao Paulo)

23. Kaka (1982, Sao Paulo)